Village of Harris

R.M. of Harris  No. 316

Village of Harris Banner

R.M. of Harris No. 316

R.M. of Harris No. 316The Rural Municipality of Harris #316 is situated south west of Saskatoon and north east of Rosetown and consists of Townships 31, 32 and 33 in Ranges 10, 11 and 12 west of the Third Meridian. The municipality is situated on “The Goose Lake Line” and has #7 provincial highway running diagonally through the R.M. The village of Harris and Tessier are located within the boundaries of the municipality. The office is located at Harris, Saskatchewan.


General Information


$58,642,200 Total Assessment
$31,052,625 Taxable Assessment

Area: 324 square miles (9 Townships)

Annual Budget (2009): $1.1 million


Zoning and Building

Zoning and Building within the municipality is controlled by Bylaw. Council has approved a new Zoning Bylaw and Building Bylaw. Prior to any building or development please make contact with our office to ensure regulations are adhered to.

Contact R.M.

Office and Staff

The office is located at 110 Main Street at Harris, Saskatchewan. The mailing address is:

R.M. of Harris No. 316
Box 146
Harris, SK S0L 1K0

Phone: 306-656-2072
Fax: 306-656-2151

Office Hours: Tuesday to Friday 8:30 am to 4:30 pm (Closed at Noon)


Adrienne Urban

Maintenance and Staff
Phone shop: 306-656-2110
Foreman: Mike Moskalyk
Cell: 306-493-7012

Equipment Operator: Victor Davidson
Phone: 306-493-7013

Truck Driver/Operator: Ryan Ens

R.M. Council

Council Meetings
Regular meetings of council are usually held on the first Wednesday of each month. During summer months, the meetings commence at 8:00 am and during the winter months, the meetings commence at 1:00 pm. For a current listing of meetings, please contact our office.

Members of council are elected for 4 years terms with the Reeve and Councillors for Divisions 1,3 and 5 elected in ‘even’ years and Councillors for Divisions 2,4 and 6 in ‘odd’ years.

2020 Council
Reeve: Dan Mireau
Phone: Res: 306-656-4411
Cell: 306-493-7158

Division 1: Russell Gordon
Phone: Res: 306-656-2003
Cell: 306-493-7585

Division 2: Marty Sigstad
Cell: 306-260-6096

Division 3: Rebecca Longworth
Cell: 306-883-8178

Division 4: Jim Richardson
Phone: Res: 306-493-8226
Cell: 306-493-7521

Divison 5: Brent Genest
Cell: 306-831-7331

Division 6: Curtis Perry
Cell: 306-280-9540


R.M. of Harris No. 316The municipality was granted its charter on December 12, 1910. The first Reeve was Daniel Lumby and the councillors were Louis Ringuette, F.Geo. Webb, A. Demarce, Thos. Lindsay, Luther Housan, and Ernie Beverstock with the first secretary-treasurer being Wm. Youell. The population of the area at that time was approximately 800 people. The population peaked in the early 1930’s at about 1,300 – today we have a population of approximately 200.

We have seen many changes over the years in our municipality. Wagon trails that once were, have now been replaced by high standard roads that see much more use today due to shipping of farmers grain to centralized locations. The horse drawn blades have been replaced by large earth moving equipment, equipped with the newest technology, and large bridges now stand where once there were simple rock crossings.

Our municipality continues to strive to maintain the best possible services to its ratepayers. Recently the municipality acquired its own gravel hauling equipment to not only maintain our own road system, but to provide gravel on a custom basis. We have three gravel pits located in various locations throughout our municipality providing traffic gravel, crushed rock, and clay tailings. We also carry out custom work if time permits.

In 2009 the municipality dug a new municipal well located on the NE 33-32-11 W3 (adjacent to #7 highway between Harris and Tessier), this along with another well located on SE 3-31-11 W3 provides water for agriculture purposes required in the area.

The municipality partners with the Village of Harris to provide other services such as the fire department, recreation facilities and landfill site. Our policing is provided by the Rosetown detachment of the R.C.M.P. We continue to provide support for the Wheatland Regional Library, as well as provide funding for West Central Enterprise Region, a regional economic development authority, to spur economic development in our area.